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InterCollegiate Wrestling Officials Association 

Rules Meeting Agenda 

November 4, 2015 

8:00pm CST   

 

Conference Call # 855.244.8681   

Meeting 805 949 659  

Password 12345 

 2015-16 Rules Review Meeting 

Meeting Facilitator: Mike Hagerty & Kenny Ritchie 

Invitees: ICWOA Members; Tim Shiels, NCAA Wrestling Officials Coordinator 

I. Welcome   

II. Review of new rule changes, specific situations and rule interpretations  

III. Stalling 

a) Neutral Position, rule 5.9.2 

i) Push/Pull situations   

ii) Interlocking fingers 

b) Offensive & Defensive Position, rule 5.9.3 

i) Waist and below the buttocks situations 

IV. Concussion time outs 

V. Miscellaneous rule and situation discussion (Hags-is there anything else you want to 

include on this call?  If so, we can cover that in this section.  Need to let me know by 

Tuesday afternoon, so I can include it in the agenda so we can send this out Tuesday 

night) 

VI. Final Comments 
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Neutral Stalling situations: 

Q1. Both wrestlers are near the edge of the mat.   Wrestler B is out of bounds when 

wrestler A pushes B out just before both wrestlers are out of bounds Wrestler A shoots 

and takes Wrestler B down, while finishing in bounds.    

Takedown and stalling call? 

Q2.   Push/pull stalling situation.  Do we need to wait until both wrestlers are out of 

bounds before the proper stalling call is made? 

Q3.  Red is the aggressor and the action moves to the OOB line.   Green is out of bounds 

and works back in bounds while red changes position and is now out of bounds.   Green 

shoots on red and red continues to back out and now both wrestlers are out of bounds. 

Is this is a stalling situation?   If so, who is penalized for stalling?  

Q4. Wrestler"A" is near the out of bounds line and Wrestler "B” pops him with both 

hands (as a set up)and wrestler A flops out of bounds to draw a cheap stall call. 

Question; what constitutes a push and can we use our judgement to identify what other 

sports has identified as Flopping to get a call? 

Q5. Wrestler "B” works into an interlocking position ( to where we can not identify 

who initiated it) and then starts shaking his hand as if he didn't initiate the 

interlock  trying to bait the official into a cheap stall call or holds on so both wrestlers get 

hit for stalling because he's got one to burn. Question; What's our options in this 

situation?  

Offensive & Defensive Stalling situations: 

Q1. Offensive wrestler (green) drops down to the near side leg and the 5 count begins.  

Defensive wrestler (red) hits a switch and offensive wrestler re-switches.   Offensive 

wrestler ends up in a butt scoot position where he has reached back and has encircled the 

defensive wrestlers leg.    Does the 5 count stop in this situation?  If so, when?  If not, 

why? 

Q2. Offensive wrestler drops to a near side leg and the 5 count begins.  Defensive 

wrestler pops up on all fours, circles towards the near side leg and ends up in a “north 

south” position with offensive wrestler.  Offensive wrestler splits the legs and pops out 

the backdoor in the “push/pull” position with one arm snaked around the near side leg.   

Does the 5 count stop?  If so, when?  If not, why? 
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Q3. Offensive wrestler breaks the defensive wrestler down and goes to a navy ride 

working for near fall points.   The offensive wrestler is not successful in turning the 

defensive wrestler in this hold and continues to hang on to the same hold.  Do we have a 

5 count in this situation?  If so, at what point do we start the 5 count? 

Q4. Offensive wrestler is below the buttocks and the 5 count has begun.  Offensive 

wrestler immediately goes from below the buttocks to a side headlock.    Is this an 

immediate stalling call or do we restart the count as it’s a separate situation? 

Q5. Offensive wrestler is below the buttocks and the 5 count has begun.  Both wrestlers 

go out of bounds during the 5 count and they restart.   Offensive wrestler immediately 

goes below the buttocks on the restart.   Does the official immediately begin the 5 count 

as a “new” situation or does the previous 5 count continue to this restart situation with 

the out of bounds restart? 

Q6. Offensive wrestler is using the waist and ankle ride to break down the defensive 

wrestler.   Defensive wrestler is broken down and offensive wrestler continues with the 

waist and ankle ride and attempts to turn the defensive wrestler.   Does the 5 count stop 

at any point during this situation?   Part 2-same situation, but offensive wrestler does not 

release the waist and ankle ride after unsuccessful attempts to turn defensive wrestler.   

Has the 5 count stopped upon the attempted turn of defensive wrestler and then restarted 

due to no change in the hold?   Is there an immediate stall call due to no change in hold? 

Q7. Wrestler A is successful in taking Wrestler B down with a double leg.   Wrestler B, 

now the defensive wrestler is a) sitting on his butt facing Wrestler A, b) facing away 

from Wrestler A on his hands.   In either situation how much time is given to the 

offensive wrestler (Wrestler A) to improve his position so that he is above the buttocks 

before we begin the 5 count for stalling? 

Concussion Time Outs: 

   Q1. Wrestler A is injured and upon Medical staff review it may be a concussion 

evaluation situation.   A) Do we first start the IJT clock upon Medical staff arrival on the 

mat and then move to “concussion time out” upon Medical staff feedback?  B)  Does the 

IJT clock need to be exhausted first before a “concussion time out” is called for further 

evaluation by Medical staff? 

The rule book, 6.1.5 states that the wrestler’s IJT must be fully exhausted before 

concussion time can be used.   The NCAA rules video implies that you don’t need to either 
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a) start IJT before Medical staff feedback states we have a concussion situation, b) that IJT 

does not need to fully exhausted before a concussion time out can be used.   Please clarify. 

Q2. If we have a concussion timeout and that match is suspended for an extended 

period of time due to the wrestler being taken to the back for observation.  Question is in a 

tournament or dual can we start the next match to keep the flow going?  Can 

Trackwrestling accommodate this?   Also, if we were able to skip to the next match while 

the wrestler is being evaluated by Medical personnel off the mat who can “observe” the 

evaluation to ensure that the injured wrestler is not being coached (premised on only 

having one mat official for dual or tournament situations)? 

Control Situation: 

Q1. Green shoots in on an outside single and red counters with a deep whizzer.  Green 

is able to walk his hips behind red and in put in the far side boot, while red still has the 

deep whizzer.   Neither wrestler is able to improve their position.   Is green awarded the 

takedown or this a stalemate situation with no control or takedown points awarded? 

http://www.icwoa.org/

